Join Talk Quesada

Welcome to Talk Quesada! My name's Alex and this is my website all about Ciudad Quesada in Spain. Talk Quesada is free to sign up and use so register below!

driving spanish car in the UK

driving spanish car in the UK

Postby bass2112 » Mon Jan 22, 2024 9:01 am

hi all hope someone can help. i am a non resident, own a property and have a Spanish registered car. i want to drive my car back to the UK so i can get some bits and pieces done to it, then drive it back probably a month or so later. i have been told i wouldn't be insured to drive it in the UK because of Brexit and not being a Spanish resident, so my spanish insurance would not be valid.

i have tried to get an answer from linier directa but they don't even seem to know. is this true and if so why?

thanks, bill.
bass2112

Which part of Spain are you from?: quesada

Re: driving spanish car in the UK

Postby marcliff » Mon Jan 22, 2024 9:25 am

Nothing has changed because of Brexit, just seems to be an excuse people jump on.
There was nothing in the withdrawal agreement that said you can't drive a foreign car in UK. Big insurance companies, like Linea Directa, can insure your car for driving in UK. Maybe you got the work placement person in when you queried it. Mine even has UK listed on the green card I was issued.

Take a look at your green card which they still issue in Spain. I bet it has UK on it.
marcliff

Which part of Spain are you from?: Dona Pepa 2

Postby Fender » Mon Jan 22, 2024 10:38 am