Join Talk Quesada

Welcome to Talk Quesada! My name's Jan and this is my website all about Ciudad Quesada in Spain. Talk Quesada is free to sign up and use so register below!

Smart TV tuning.

Smart TV tuning.

Postby El Tel » Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:28 pm

i have just bought a Smart TV, I have connected it up and am going through the setup process! I have reached the part where it asks me for the manufacturers name of the satellite box. Unfortunately the name of my box does not feature in the list of devices. It is a Formuler S mini box that I purchased from Paul the Techie in April. If anyone knows what to do, before Strictly comes on, I would be forever grateful, and so would my wife. Thanks in anticipation. Terry
User avatar
El Tel
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:55 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: Quesada
Gender: Male

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby PeteKnight » Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:39 pm

There are only two reasons why I can think that a Smart TV would want the name of the sat box...

1) so that you can control the sat box using the remote control for the TV
2j to assign that name to the HDMI input that the sat box is connected to (seems unlikely).

If you’re happy to use the original sat box remove to change channels then simply connect the sat box to HDMI1 and select that input from menu on the TV.

If the Smart TV has a remote that wants to change the channel n the sat box, but your box isn’t listed then there It may have the option to learn the IR codes from the sat box remote.
Some smart TV also have satellite tuners built-in, so that may also be an option.

Pete.
PeteKnight
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:17 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: Villamartin
Gender: Male

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby El Tel » Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:55 pm

Thanks so much for your speedy reply Pete. What you say is absolutely correct. I was trying to do an automatic tune but didn’t realise this was for analogue channels from a conventional aerial, so that’s sorted. Now I’m using the correct remote I’m even getting all my channels, DOH.
Thanks so much.
User avatar
El Tel
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:55 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: Quesada
Gender: Male

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby PeteKnight » Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:24 pm

:text-lol:
PeteKnight
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:17 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: Villamartin
Gender: Male

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby Rodt » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:27 pm

Slightly off beat, we cannot get channel4 +1, we were getting it fine until 3 days ago, any ideas folks :text-thankyouyellow:
User avatar
Rodt
 
Posts: 980
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:24 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: pueblo luceroResale

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby marcliff » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:51 pm

Try rescanning. We get it on Ch 121 on our Humax box Freesat box.
marcliff
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:41 pm
Location: Doña Pepa 2
Which part of Spain are you from?: Dona Pepa 2
Gender: Male

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby Paul - TV Techie » Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:42 pm

Hi Terry, if you ever get stuck - welcome to email me on [email protected] or message me on the http://www.facebook.com/televisiontechnology fb page.

For any new piece of equipment plugged into the TV - check which HDMI socket you have plugged it into on the TV itself (IE HDMI 1 or HDMI 2), then on your TV remote (not IP or other), select the same HDMI port as the new box is plugged into. Usually marked on the TV remote as input or source setting.

With the TV's themselves - all have a Spanish terrestrial tuner - so if you scan this DVB-T(terrestrial) you'll need to have a Spanish antenna on your roof. If you have a satellite dish for UK TV, not all smart TV's have a satellite tuner - some do, some don't - DVB-S2. As for any form of IP box, these do not have a tuner as such and just connect straight to an HDMI port, no scanning.



Paul
http://www.televisiontechnology.eu
Paul - TV Techie
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:21 pm
Location: Technical Support
Which part of Spain are you from?: almoradi, alicante
Gender: Male

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby Rodt » Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:58 pm

Hi Paul tv techie, any idea why we have lost channel 4+1, :text-thankyouyellow:
User avatar
Rodt
 
Posts: 980
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:24 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: pueblo luceroResale

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby Rodt » Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:58 pm

Hi Paul tv techie, any idea why we have lost channel 4+1, :text-thankyouyellow:
User avatar
Rodt
 
Posts: 980
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:24 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: pueblo luceroResale

Re: Smart TV tuning.

Postby El Tel » Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:07 pm

I’ve got channel 4+1 but have lost 4?
Thanks Paul.
User avatar
El Tel
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:55 pm
Which part of Spain are you from?: Quesada
Gender: Male

Next






  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Broadband, Computer, Wifi, Phone and TV

 
 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login
Username:


Password:


Remember me


Forgot password?

Register now

Find in Quesada
What are you looking for in Quesada?: